top of page

BV Seniors Making Cents of the Pandemic

As we jump into the second semester of our 2020-21 year, Bella Vista High School seniors are beginning to look forward to their future in the fall, however it may materialize. With the COVID-19 pandemic virtually changing everything school related, many seniors have taken this year to take a step back, and make the smartest decision for their future in a COVID or post-COVID world. A study done by UC Davis documented the concerns of 16,000 high school seniors. More than 80% of seniors were concerned about taking college classes online, and fewer than 10% said they planned to delay college enrollment altogether. Which due to the pandemic, isn’t necessarily a faulty choice.


The pandemic has also given opportunities for students to be smarter economically. With the possibility of school continuing online, seniors have made changes that could save them thousands of dollars. For example, many students are planning to take a gap year, which can help you gain real life experience, and help you save money for the future. College freshmen are also considering different housing options compared to on campus living. Fully digital school means not needing to rely on location, so students could still take classes at home. High school seniors can also get an essential worker job, such as restaurants or grocery stores.

For examples of BV students planning for the future of a pandemic college experience, take senior Jennifer Zwigl. Zwigl had her plans changed by the pandemic, but was able to change her course of action and recover: “I am no longer going to be attending a university in the fall, like a UC or CSU. I thought it would be a smart idea to go to community college instead and save some money. I really didn’t want to have to pay a crazy amount just to attend college on Zoom, and community college is super flexible, so I can transfer to a larger school whenever I’m ready.” (Jennifer Zwigl, Senior)


Another example is senior Cade DePeel, who has also struggled with the pandemic’s intrusion on his plans for college. “The pandemic has drastically changed my plan for college. I was recently set on going into a four year university and had applications lined up for several schools, but with the emergence of Covid and the integration of online school, it has changed that plan. My fear is that I will enter my first year of university and have to do the entirety of it online—much like my senior year. Why pay nearly 20,000 dollars in tuition for online school? As far as I know, most students are paying full price for lackluster classes and busy work until the pandemic ends. This has prompted me to explore the idea of community college, but at the same time it would invalidate most of my AP courses because I effectively would be taking them again in Community College. This has made me really unsure about what my plan is and I’m really just holding out until the year is out to make a decision to be honest.” (Cade DePeel, Senior)


When it comes to jobs during the pandemic, both Zwigl and DePeel aren’t currently employed as essential workers, but have massive amounts of respect for students who are. “I actually was in the middle of job-searching when the pandemic hit, but decided against working for right now out of fear of getting sick. I really do feel for all the kids at our school who work an essential job right now though. I know it must be super intense and stressful.” (Jennifer Zwigl, Senior)


“I have not taken up a frontline job. Unfortunately, I already take risks by practicing and running on the trails for my sport and taking up a job would put them and my family at risk. Not to mention I also have asthma that flares up with respiratory colds, and I am unsure how that would react with Covid, so I try to minimize how many risks I take while simultaneously staying healthy.” (Cade DePeel, Senior)


When it comes to the future, the only thing we can expect is the unexpected. BV seniors and recent BV graduates are facing unprecedented amounts of decisions and pressure, and the best we can do is support them on their way out. It’s a good thing however, that most have developed a way to be successful, and to persevere through the troubles of the pandemic while maintaining a frame for the future. If that’s the case, then the best is yet to come.




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page